Growth update: Week 1

Growbed 1 - Week 1

Growbed 1 - Week 1

GROWBED ONE: The radishes are starting to peak their heads out. I’ve been gone since last Thursday, but it looks like they popped out a day or two ago. Germination for radishes is between 4 & 7 days, so this is a little on the late side but still on track. Harvest is 22 days, which I’m not sure if that’s after germination or if it’s included, but we’ll see around Dec. 15th.

Growbed 1 - Radish growth

Growbed 1 - Radish growth

Growbed 2 - Week 1

Growbed 2 - Week 1

GROWBED TWO: The garlic is doing pretty well. At first I thought that two of them weren’t really growing, but after shifting the rocks a bit I found them. They might have just been buried a little too deep. Hopefully the shift will help them grow.

Growbed 2 - Garlic

Growbed 2 - Garlic

The romaine lettuce is doing ok. When I checked on it last night I couldn’t see any growth, but this morning I saw it poking its head out finally on the left side. The right side though there hasn’t really been any movement that I can see, so if nothing creeps out in the next few days I’ll replant there with probably more garlic.

Growbed 2 - Romaine Lettuce

Growbed 2 - Romaine Lettuce

GENERAL NOTES: I’m debating when to upgrade to a second goldfish. My concern is over nutriating(sp?) the tanks and getting fungal growth again while everything is still growing lightly. I’m thinking of giving it one more week, then if it’s doing ok and the water PH etc isn’t too high I’ll drop one more in.

Also, I’m going to stick the compost bins under in a few days. They nearly have a sufficient amount of food to work with.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

